Kalidasa's Trilogy

Kalidasa's Trilogy

Product ID: 25267

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Dipavali Debroy
Publisher: Smriti Books
Year: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 136
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8187967706


Kalidasa’s Trilogy consists of three of Kalidasa’s poetical works: Meghadootam. Kumarasambhavam and Raghuvamsham.

The book starts by introducing Kalidasa to the readers and goes on to introducing his above mentioned works. Then the three stories are presented, not as a literal translation from Sanskrit, but as an adaptation in English prose highlighting the beauty of Kalidasa’s poetry at every step.

Except for Meghadootam, which is an original tale of a Yaksha pining for his wife and sending a love-message through a cloud; Kalidasa has drawn from older sources like the Puranas and Ramayana for his other works. Kumarasambhavam is about Shiva and Parvati. Raghuvamsham is about a royal family, the Suryavamsha, the family of Rama of Ramayana.

The purpose of this book is to bring to the readers the treasures of Indian classic literature, so that they are able to understand and appreciate its beauty and are encouraged to read the original works.