Indonesian Ramayana : The Uttarakanda

Indonesian Ramayana : The Uttarakanda

Product ID: 16246

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: I Gusti Putu Phalgunadi
Publisher: Sundeep Prakashan
Year: 1999
Language: English
Pages: 256
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8175740531


The Classical Indonesian Ramayana : Uttarakanda was composed sometime during the period A D 991 to A D 1016. It was written in Kawi, the official language of then Indonesian society, Dr I Gusti Putu Phalgunadi presents its English translation, the first of its kind in any European language, to popularise this work of literary value among those English-reading people of the world who are unable to read it in its original form. King Dharmavansa-teguh-Anantavi-Kramottungadeva was the most powerful ruler of the Isana dynasty. It was under the reign of king Dharmavasna-teguh-Anantavikra-mottungadeva that the famous Adiparva, Sabhaparva, Virataparva, Udyogaparva and Bhismaparva of the Mahabharata were composed in Kawi language. He laid down ideals in every sphere of life and under his rule East Jawa rose to dizzy heights.

The Sanskrit Ramayana composed by Adikavi Maharsi Balmiki consists of seven Kandas or books, namely Balakanda, Ayodhyakanda, Aranyakanda, Kiskindhakanda, Sundarakanda, Yuddhakanda and Uttarakanda. The classical Indonesian Ramayana (Kakawin), however contains only six hands. The Uttarakanda figures as a separate work having an independent identity of its own. The salient feature of the classical Indonesian Uttarakanda is the way in which the classical Indonesian Uttarakanda is divided. It consists of chapters(sargah) and the end of each chapter is stated in Sanskrit the title denoting the content and the serial number of the chapter. Besides, The quotations of the Sanskrit slokas in the Classical Indonesian Uttarakanda are faithfully taken from the text of the Balmiki's Ramayana.

The main plot of this work is based on the Balmiki's Uttarakanda. However, it is not a translation of the Sanskrit work. This English translation of the Indonesian Ramayana : Uttarakanda original has been done for the first time. Its corresponding Kawi text is given on opposite pages to enable researchers to understand in depth studies. This work will be of use to students of the Indian epic, Indonesian literature, cultural anthropology, performing arts, linguistic and allied disciplines.








Chapter (Sargah) I : The Assembly of Sages (Rsisamagama)
Chapter (Sargah) II : The Origin of Polastyas (Polastyasambhava)
Chapter (Sargah) III : The Birth of Vaisravana (Vaisravanopatti)
Chapter (Sargah) IV : The Birth of Sukesa (Sukesajanma)
Chapter (Sargah) V : The Offsprings of the Raksasas (Raksasantana)
Chapter (Sargah) VI : Raksasa Warriors (Raksasayodha)
Chapter (Sargah) VII : Destroying of the Raksasas (Raksasabhanga)
Chapter (Sargah) VIII : The Story of Raksasas (Raksasaparva)
Chapter (Sargah) IX : The Birth of Ravana (Ravanotpatti)
Chapter (Sargah) X : Grant of Boons (Varapradana)
Chapter (Sargah) XI : The Coornation of Ravana (Ravanabhiseka)
Chapter (Sargah) XII : The Birth of Meghanada (Meghanadajamma)
Chapter (Sargah) XIII : The Narration of Messenger (Dutavarnana)
Chapter (Sargah) XIV : The Destruction of the Yaksas (Yaksavidarana)
Chapter (Sargah) XV : The Boon of Gods (Devatanugraha)
Chapter (Sargah) XVI : King Anaranya (Anaranya)
Chapter (Sargah) XVII : The Offering of Flowers (Puspopahara)
Chapter (Sargah) XVIII : The Battle of Arjuna and Ravana (Arjuna-Ravanayuddha)
Chapter (Sargah) XIX : Ravana Set Free (Ravanavimoksana)
Chapter (Sargah) XX : The kinsman if Narada (Naradasambaddha)
Chapter (Sargah) XXI : Destruction of Yama`s Troops (Yamakinkaravidhvamsana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXII : The Defeat of Yama (Yamaparajaya)
Chapter (Sargah) XXIII : The Victory Over Rasatala (Rasatalavijaya)
Chapter (Sargah) XXIV : Lamentation of the Distressed Women (Strikarunavilapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XXV : Coming Together of Ravana and Madhu (Ravana-Madhusamagama)
Chapter (Sargah) XXVI : Curse of Ravana (Ravanasapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XXVII : Indra-Ravana Duel (Indra-Ravanadvandva)
Chapter (Sargah) XXVIII : The Defeat of the Gods (Devataparajaya)
Chapter (Sargah) XXIX : Bhagavn Agastya Addresses Lord Rama (Warah Warah Bhagavan Agastya Ri Bhattara Rama)
Chapter (Sargah) XXX : Departure of Kings (Rajaprayana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXI : The Meeting of Brothers (Bhratarasamagama)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXII : Sita Aggrieved (Sitapravasana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXIII : The Conversation of Sumantra and Laksmana (Sumantra-Laksmanasambhasana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXIV : The Return of Laksmana After Abandoning Sita (Laksmanaparityagagamana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXV : The Curse on Nimi (Nimisapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXVI : The Curse on Yayati (Yayatisapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXVII : Protection for the Sagas (Rsisandharana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXVIII : Satrughna Express His Willingness(Satrughnaprayana)
Chapter (Sargah) XXXIX : The Death of Lavana (Lavanavadha)
Chapter (Sargah) XL : Lamentation of the Brahma (Brahmanavilapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XLI : The Words of Narada (Naradavakya)
Chapter (Sargah) XLII : The Killing of Sambuka (Sambukavadha)
Chapter (Sargah) XLIII : The Words of Agastya )Agastyavakya)
Chapter (Sargah) XLIV : The Presentation of Sveta (Svetapradana)
Chapter (Sargah) XLV : Royal Settlement (Puranivesana)
Chapter (Sargah) XLVI : The Curse of Danda (Dandasapa)
Chapter (Sargah) XLVII : The Death of Vrtta (Vrttavadha)
Chapter (Sargah) XLVIII : The (half) Female (half) Male (Stripurusa)
Chapter (Sargah) XLIX : The Imperfect Man (Purusalamba)
Chapter (Sargah) L : Preparations of Sacrifice (Yajnaprayana)
Chapter (Sargah) LI : The Description of Sacrifice (Yajnavarnana)
Chapter (Sargah) LII : The Missive of Balmiki (Balmikisandesana)
Chapter (Sargah) LIII : The Words of Balmiki (Balmikivakya)
Chapter (Sargah) LIV : Sita Enters Rasatala (Sitarasatalapravesa)
Chapter (Sargah) LV : Pitamaha Appears (Pitamahadarsana)
Chapter (Sargah) LVI : Completion of Sacrifice (Yajnavasana)
Chapter (Sargah) LVII : The Homeland of the Gandharvas (Gandharvanivesana)
Chapter (Sargah) LVIII : The Coronation of Princes (Putrabhiseka)
Chapter (Sargah) LIX : The Arrival of the Messenger of Death (Kaladutabhigamana)
Chapter (Sargah) LX : The Words of Brahma (Brahmavakya)
Chapter (Sargah) LXI : The Arrival of Durvasa (Durvasabhigamma)
Chapter (Sargah) LXII : The Banishment of Lakshmana (Laksmanaparityaga)
Chapter (Sargah) LXIII : The Coronation of Kusalava (Kusa-Lavabhiseka)
Chapter (Sargah) LXIV : The Arrival of Friends (Mitrabhigamana)
Chapter (Sargah) LXV : The Departure of Rama (Ramaprasthanika)
Chapter (Sargah) LXVI : Ascending the Heaven (Svargarohana)
Chapter (Sargah) LXVII : The Greatness of the Ramayana (Ramayanamahatmya)