Profiles of Indian Prime Ministers

Profiles of Indian Prime Ministers

Product ID: 15833

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Manisha
Publisher: Mittal Publications
Year: 2004
Language: English
Pages: N/A
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8170999766


When Dr Manmohan Singh was sown in as India’s prime Minister on May 22, 2004, he became the thirteenth person to assume this august office, following the fall of the government led by Atal Bihari Vajpayee after its debacle in the Lok Sabha election. Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of independent India.

The first three decades were dominated by the Congress Party. Morarji Desai was the first non-congress Prime Minister who assumed office in 1977.

The Prime Ministers of India have come from different backgrounds. It would be a very interesting and instructive exercise to study the profiles of these prime Ministers. The present author has done a good job of highlighting the contributions and achievements f the prime Ministers in a systematic manner.

Apart from the sketches of personalities of Prime Ministers, the author has also discussed important aspects of governance at the Centre. The two chapters Prime Minister in Parliament and Prime Minister and has team are very useful as they describe how the Prime Minister as the pivot of the Union Government functions in Parliament and outside and oversees the work of his Council of Ministers.

The book is must for those interested in the system of governance in India.