Leadership in the Indian Army - Biographies of Twelve Soldiers

Leadership in the Indian Army - Biographies of Twelve Soldiers

Product ID: 15283

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: V K Singh
Publisher: Sage Publications
Year: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 420
ISBN/UPC (if available): 0761933220


Spanning over 60 years of military leadership in India, this unique book brings to life the human side of twelve exceptional military leaders. Unlike traditional biographies of combat leaders which focus primarily on military operations or regimental histories, the author concentrates on personal accounts, anecdotes and reminiscences in order to highlight these leaders` personalities, and to draw out the human face behind the military facade. The author argues that written records tend to glorify the actions of battalions as well as individuals, magnifying achievements while suppressing the mistakes and glossing over failures. This book, on the other hand, provides a truer picture of the strength of character and convictions of each of these leaders.

The book throws new light on many historical events and the role of political leaders during India’s fight for independence and the partitioning of the subcontinent. The author gives an overview of India’s military history after independence, including major operations such as the wars with China in 1962, and with Pakistan in 1947, 1965 and 1971. He describes many hitherto unknown or little known facts and incidents concerning smaller operations like Nathu La in 1967 and Goa in 1962.




Field Marshal K M Cariappa, OBE: First Indian Commander-in-Chief
Lieutenant General Thakur Nathu Singh: A Fearless Nationalist
General K S Thimayya, DSO: Timmy Sahib, India's Most Popular General
Lieutenant General S P P Thorat, KC, DSO: A Professional to the Core
Brigadier Mohd. Usman, MVC: The Epitome of Valour
Field Marshal S H F J Manekshaw, MC: The Architect of India's Victory Over Pakistan
Lieutenant General R N Batra, PVSM, OBE: Communicator Par Excellence
Lieutenant General P S Bhagat, PVSM, VC: The Soldiers’ General
Lieutenant General Sagat Singh, PVSM: India’s Finest Combat Leader
Lieutenant General Z C Bakshi, PVSM, MVC, VrC, VSM: India's Most Decorated General
Lieutenant General S K Sinha, PVSM: The Soldier-Statesman
Lieutenant General Hanut Singh, PVSM, MVC: A Brilliant Tactician