Rabindranath Tagore -  OMNIBUS I

Rabindranath Tagore - OMNIBUS I

Product ID: 11415

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Rabindranath Tagore
Publisher: Rupa
Year: 2003
Language: English
Pages: 1010
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8129101750


Rabindranath Tagore Omnibus I brings six of the author’s acclaimed works under one roof. It includes: Gitanjali, The Post Office, Creative Unity, Hungry Stones & Other Stories, Gora and My Boyhood Days.

Gitanjali, his Nobel Prize winning work, is a collection of 103 poems selected by him from his several Bengali books of poetry. It was largely the Gitanjali poems that took the western world by storm and led W B Yeats to comment… (the poems) have stirred my blood as nothing for years…The Post Office, rich in symbolism and allegory and mixing simplicity with sophistication, is hailed as a masterpiece and a world classic. Creative Unity (1922), acclaimed as the finest and wisest of Tagore’s collected essays in English, reveals some of his fundamental tenets of art and aesthetics, of life and religion and of the religion of the poet.

Tagore was the first modern Bengali short storywriter. His Hungry Stones& Other Stories is full of fine tales of mystery and imagination and spun around lovable characters like the Cabulliwallah. Gora, with its epic dimensions and the broad canvas of the social, cultural, religious and political life of the nineteenth century urban middle class Bengal, was a landmark in the history of the Bengali novel. My Boyhood Days, Tagore’s memoir of his childhood days, is an insightful peep into discovering the wonder and delight in the seemingly commonplace experiences that helped him become a great poet.



Post Office

Creative Unity


My Boyhood Days

Hungry Stones and Other Stories