Gods of Power - Personality Cult & Indian Democracy

Gods of Power - Personality Cult & Indian Democracy

Product ID: 8560

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Kalyani Shankar
Publisher: Macmillan
Year: 2002
Language: English
Pages: 296
ISBN/UPC (if available): 0333937210


This book renders a fascinating study of how democracy survives in India despite the personality cult having a remarkable sway over the polity. An overview of the subject raises several questions.

An overview of the subject raises several questions : Would this cult and its several offshoots in any way subvert the Constitution, whose core component is both secular and democratic? How real is this apprehension ? In what shape of form could this happen, if it does ? And what precautions of alternative measures need to be taken to counter this threat to a democratic setup ?

How will the political outfits headed by such leaders, devoid of inner party democracy affect the working of Parliament and legislatures at the national and state level ? Above all, will the fragmentation become further accentuated in the coming years ? If this happens, then how would it really affect the political stability ? Will the Constitution and the deep national commitment to democratic values contain the personality cult in the long run ?

This work makes a serious attempt, probing these queries and seeking relative answers, through the profiles and political shenanigans of nine leaders who became instrumental in changing the entire equation at the Center-state level. An analysis of these regional satraps lends an insight into how cult following makes for a perfect democratic paradox.



Cult Theory : A Democratic Paradox

Bal Thackeray : Tiger That Roars

MG Ramachandran : Infallible Hero

Jayalalithaa Jayaram: Empress in Search of Throne

NT Rama Rao : Myth of Reality

Chandrababu Naidu : Fighting For Legacy

Mulayam Singh Yadav : Wrestler in the Ring

Laloo Prasad Yadav : His Rural Majesty

Mamat Banerjee : Rebel Without A Pause

Mayawati: Dalit Pride