The Sufi Message -  Vol. VIII : Sufi Teachings

The Sufi Message - Vol. VIII : Sufi Teachings

Product ID: 6907

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Hazrat Inayat Khan
Publisher: Motilal Banarsidass
Year: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 339
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8120806840


“How the words ‘love’, ‘harmony’, and ‘beauty’ delight the heart of everyone who hears them” is the opening sentence of this volume. The author, Hazrat Sufi Inayat Khan, has labeled his message as the Sufi message of love, Harmony and Beauty, because in the present world these qualities seem to be underrated if not neglected altogether. Moreover, spirituality cannot exist without these. The first prerequisite, however, even to experience the delight he mentions above, is an open heart.

This is the eighth volume of the Indian edition of all the works of Hazrat Inayat Khan, the great Sufi mystic who lectured and taught in the western world. This book and other volumes in this series contain his lectures, discourses and other teachings as taken down in shorthand.

The complete series contains fourteen volumes. Each volume is complete in itself, and therefore may be read without any necessity to study following or previous ones. However, one may get a spiritual and mental appetite to continue reading . One will find that a meditative way of reading will convey not only the words but also the spiritual power emanating from them, tuning mind, heart and soul to the pitch which is one's own.

“Sufism has never had a first exponent or a historical origin. It existed from the beginning, because man has always possessed the light which is his second nature; And light in its higher aspect may be called the knowledge of God, the divine wisdom—in fact, Sufism.. Sufism has always been practiced and its messengers have been people of the heart . . .” These are the inspiring opening phrases of this book of enlightenment. It contains lectures and meditations given by Hazrat Sufi Inayat Khan in the West.

It covers a wide range of topics as wide apart as Vaccination on the one end and the Awakening of the Soul on the other. The general themes under which the 68 papers can be listed are the following: Sufis, Human Life, The Will, Philosophy, Religion, Balance, and Inner Life and Spirituality.

This book thus forms a complement to the previous volumes. At the same time it serves as an excellent introduction in its own right to the Sufism of Hazrat Inayat Khan.

Its author, Hazrat Inayat Khan has produced these tests in the form of lectures. It is marvelous to see how his views seem to have gained in value over time. They present a wonderful informal type of guide book through life, without any rules or regulations. He often refers to the inner path of the Sufis. He instituted an esoteric school which is incorporated in the Sufi Movement, and which helps people along who feel moved by this book.


Preface to the Series
Preface to the VIII

History of the Sufis
The Sufi’s Aim
The Different Stages of Spiritual Development
The Prophetic Tendency
Physical Control
Struggle and Resignation
The Difference between Will, Wish, and Desire

The Law of Attraction
Pairs of Opposites
Resist not Evil
The Privilege of being Human
Our God Part and our Man Part
Man, the Seed of God
Spiritual circulation through the Veins of Nature
Destiny and Free Will
Divine impulse
The Law of Life
Manifestation, Gravitation, Assimilation, and Perfection
Karma and Reincarnation

Life in the Hereafter
The Mystical Meaning of the Resurrection
The Symbol of the Cross
The Mystery of Sleep
The Gift of Eloquence
The Power of Silence
The Ego
The Birth of the New Era
The Deeper Side of Life
Life’s Mechanism
The Smiling Forehead
The Spell of Life
The Conservative Spirit
Respect and Consideration
Optimism and Pessimism
Vaccination and Inoculation

The Heart
The Heart Quality
The Turning of the Heart (1)
The Turning of the Heart (2)
The Soul, Its Origin and Unfoldment
The Unfoldment of the Soul
The Soul’s Desire
The Awakening of the Soul (1)
The Awakening of the Soul (2)
The Awakening of the Soul (3)
The Maturity of the Soul
The Dance of the Soul