Krishnavatara 7 - The Book of Yudhishthira

Krishnavatara 7 - The Book of Yudhishthira

Product ID: 6050

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: K M Munshi
Publisher: Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan
Year: 2012
Language: English
Pages: 215
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8172763492


Book seven is the concluding volume of this series and it includes 13 chapters which were intended to be included in Volume VIII. However, it was not to be due to sudden death of he author on 8th February.

Krishnavatara is a 7-volume reconstruction of Krishna's life and adventures by weaving a romance around him. Wise ad valorous, he was, loving and loved, far-seeing and yet living for the moment, gifted with sage-like detachment and yet intensely human; the diplomat, the sage and the man of action with a personality as luminous as that of a divinity.

The first part, which ends with the death of Kamsa has been named The Magic Flute, for it deals with his boyhood associated with the flute, which hypnotized men, animals and birds alike, sung with such loving tenderness y innumerable poets.

The second volume, which ends with Rukmini Haran, is named as The Wrath of an Emperor, as the central theme is the successful defiance by Sri Krishna of Jarasandha, the Emperor of Magadha.

The third part is entitled The Five Brothers and ends with Draupadi's Swayamvara. The Fourth is titled The Book of Bhima, Fifth part The Book of Satyabhaama, the sixth volume The Book of Vyaasa, the Master. The seventh and concluding volume, incorporating 7th part and unfinished 8th part, is titled The Book of Yudhishthira.