A Treasury of Ancient Indian Tales

A Treasury of Ancient Indian Tales

Product ID: 23103

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Swagata Deb
Publisher: Rupa
Year: 2007
Language: English
Pages: 191
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788129112057


This is a collection of some of the most exciting and fun stories from Indian mythology. Lucidly narrated and brilliantly illustrated, this exclusive assortment of tales gives us a peek into fascinating legends, and recounts the exploits of gods, demons and mortals in tales of valour, adventure and intrigue.

The first section consists of assorted tales that retell the stories of how thunder got its sound, and what happened when the child Hanuman thought the rising sun was a ball, to how Ganesha got the head of an elephant.

The second section tells tales of the never-ending wars between the Devas and the Asuras – the gods and the demons – and how they constantly tried to outwit each other and seize control of the universe.

The third section is about the ten Avataras of Vishnu: from the Matsya (fish) Avatara, who saved living beings from the great flood, to the yet-to-be-born Kalki, who will destroy all evil and create a new, fair and happy world.

The fourth section features timeless tales from the Mahabharata – stories that are not part of the main storyline about the Pandavas and the Kauravas, but which are an integral part of the great Indian tapestry of imagination and myth: how Savitri brought Satyavan back from the dead, the tale of Shakuntala’s lost ring, and many others.


1. The story of Hanuman’s Childhood
2. Ganga’s Descent
3. The sound of Thunder
4. Agni Tries to Hide
5. How Ganesha Got His Elephant Head

1. Agastya Rishi Drinks up the Ocean
2. Mahishasura’s Defeat
3. The Story of Kacha

1. The Matsya Avatara
2. The Kurma Avatara
3. The Varaha Avatara
4. The Nrisimha Avatara
5. The Vamana Avatara
6. The Parashurama Avatara
7. The Ramachandra Avatara
8. The Krishna Avatara
9. The Balarama Avatara
10. The Kalki Avatara

1. The Story of Creation and Boomsday
2. The Story of Chyanvan and Sukanya
3. The Story of Satyavan and Savitri
4. The Story of Nala and Damayanti
5. The Story of Dushyanta and Shakuntala
6. The Final Journey