Iraq Confidential - The Untold Story of America's Intelligence Conspiracy

Iraq Confidential - The Untold Story of America's Intelligence Conspiracy

Product ID: 22167

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Scott Ritter
Foreword/Introductio: Seymour Hersh
Publisher: Viva Books
Year: 2006
Language: English
Pages: 312
ISBN/UPC (if available): 1845110889


Scott Ritter is the straight-talking former Marine officer whom the CIA wanted to silence. After the 1991Gulf War Ritter helped lead the UN weapons inspections of Iraq and found himself at the centre of a dangerous game between the Iraqi and US regimes. As Ritter now reveals in this explosive book, Washington was only ever interested in disarmament as a tool for its own agenda: regime change. Operating in fog of espionage and counter-espionage, Ritter and his team were determined to find out the truth, we now know, was that Iraq was playing a deadly game of double-bluff, and actually had no WMD. But to have revealed this would have derailed America’s drive to topple Saddam Hussein.

Iraq Confidential charts the disillusionment of a true patriot, who came to realise that his own government sought to undermine weapons control in the Middle East. Ritter shows us a world of deceit and betrayal, in which nothing is as it seems. Ricocheting between trigger-happy Iraqi soldiers in the desert and duplicitous spymasters in Washington, this book provides tantalizing glimpses into the real workings of international diplomacy – Ritter reveals the truth about Saddam’s so-called secret SCUD force, the chief CIA intelligence source ‘Curveball’, the involvement of the Israelis and the full extents to which the CIA simply commandeered the UN disarmament mission. A host of characters from M16 to the Romanian intelligence services flesh out this powerful narrative, which will radically affect the ongoing debated about Iraq.


Foreword by Seymour Hersh




Prologue: In the Eye of the Storm


A Delicate Balancing Act: September-December 1991

The Bumbpy Road to Independence: December 1991-February 1992

Showdown in Baghdad: March-July1992

Counterattack: August-October 1992

Assassinating the truth: October 1992-January 1993

Shifting the Goalposts: February 1993-March1994


New Friends: March-November1994

A Fresh Start: December 1994-July 1995

Adventures in Amman: July-November 1995

A Breach of Trust: November 1995-January 1996

The Listening Post: January-March 1996

Blowback: June 1996

The Poison Pill: July-August 1996
The Con Game: August-December 1996
White House Blues: January-March1997


THE Truth Emerges: March-May1997

Unraveling Concealment: June 1997

New Direction: July-October 1997

False Starts: October-December 1997

The Death of Inspections: January-August 1998

Epilogue: All those Lies