Memoirs - 25 Communist Freedom Fighters

Memoirs - 25 Communist Freedom Fighters

Product ID: 16213

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Sitaram Yechuri
Publisher: LeftWord
Year: 2005
Language: English
Pages: 203
ISBN/UPC (if available): N/A


This publication has been long overdue.

During the course of the golden jubilee celebrations of India’s independence from colonial rule, Peoples’ Democracy had carried two regular columns through the year-People’s Diary of the Freedom Struggle and Memoirs of a Communist Freedom fighter. Both these, it was then decided, would be brought out in two separate volumes. We are glad that in this volume many of the columns carried by people’s Democracy during 1997 and 1998 are being published together.

Through this volume, we seek to set the record straight on this score. This volume does not contain, by any means, an exhaustive account or list of all Communist Freedom Fighters. We hope, at some time in the future, we will be able to undertake this task. There are countless leaders of the CPI (M) today who were part of the freedom struggle. Apart, of course, from the hundreds who sacrificed their lives in this struggle. This volume is a tribute to these Communists.

This volume will be of use to the new post-independent Indian generations who are continuously subjected to distortions of our history.



The Communists and the Indian
Freedom Struggle -JYOTI BASU
Muzaffar Ahmad
Ganesh Ghosh
Hemanta Ghoshal
A K Gopalan
Qazi Nazrul Islam
K P Janakiammal
Pandit Kishori Lal
Kaka Mithalal
Amalendu Mukherjee
Bankim Mukherjee
Samar Mukherjee
Satish Pakrashi
Bhagabati Panigrahi
Shamroa & Godavari Parulekar
P Krishna Pillai
P Ramumruthy
Vimal Ranadive
Ahilya Rangnekar
Lakshmi Sahgal
Rahul Sankrityayana
Niranjan Sen Gupta
Durgadas Sikdar
Major Jaipal singh
Harkishan Singh Surjeet
Shiv Verma