Just Between Us - Women Speak About Their Writing

Just Between Us - Women Speak About Their Writing

Product ID: 14424

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: Ammu Joseph
Vasanth Kannabiran/Ritu Menon
Editor(s): Ammu Joseph, Vasanth Kannabiran, Ritu Menon
Publisher: Kali/Women Unlimited
Year: 2004
Language: English
Pages: 367
ISBN/UPC (if available): 8188965154


The interviews in this volume are the outcome of a series of workshops held with women writers during 1999-2001, on the question of genderbased censorship and related issues. Nearly 200 writers from ten Indian languages met to talk about the circumstances in which they write-and in which they are read and written about. They represented a true cross-section of society in terms of location, age, caste, community or religion, and genre. As the discussions progressed they unfolded a rich tapestry of experience and insight across languages and regions; gender and genre; caste and community.

The 18 writers in this anthology are among the best known and best loved, writing in India today. As each one speaks of her own work with rare candour and transparent sincerity, she also subtly illuminates the particular context in which she writes. This counter pointing of the personal and political, the private and public, and the literary and social makes for accounts that are, at once, most unusual, yet deeply moving.

Featured here are Shashi Deshpande, Sara Joseph, Jeelani Bano, Imtiaz Dharker, Alka Saraogi, Bani Basu, Gauri Deshpande, Vaidehi, Neelesh Raghuwanshi, Manisha Joshi, Shahjahana, Githa Hiranyan, Rajani Parulekar, B M Zuhara, Varsha Adalja, Sugatha Kumari, Maitreyi Pushpa and Jupaka Subhadra.




Shashi Deshpande (English)
Sara Joseph (Malayalam)
Jeelani Bano (Urdu)
Imtiaz Dharkar (English)
Alka Saraogi (Hindi)
Bani Basu (Bengali)
Gauri Deshpande (Marathi)
Vaidehi (Kannada)
Neelesh Raghuwanshi (Hindi)
Manisha Joshi (Gujarati)
Shahjahana (Telugu)
Maitreyi Pushpa (Hindi)
Jupaka Subhadra (Telugu)
Githa Hiranyan (Malayalam)
Rajani Parulekar (Marathi)
B M Zuhara (Malayalam)
Varsha Adalja (Gujarati)
Sugatha Kumari (Malayalam)