The Oxford India Ramanujan

The Oxford India Ramanujan

Product ID: 12313

Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Author: A K Ramanujan
Editor(s): Molly Daniels-Ramanujan
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Year: 2003
Language: English
Pages: 1200
ISBN/UPC (if available): 0195664787


A K Ramanujan has been recognized as one of the world's most profound scholars of South Asian languages and culture. His celebrated translations from classical Tamil and medieval Kannada, and his prize-winning collection of poems are brought together for the first time in this classic edition.

This omnibus includes four volumes of his verse in English, as well as posthumous editions of his collected and uncollected poems. These are followed by his translations of ancient Tamil and medieval Kannada poetry. The love poems in The Interior Landscape, as well as Poems of Love and War, come from Tamil texts of the first three centuries AD. Hymns for the Drowning is a selection of poems by Nammalvar, the revered saint-poet of the ninth century, whose devotional hymns addressed to Visnu are among the earliest bhakti texts. The widely known vacanas in Speaking of Siva by four major saints of the laster bhakti protest movement of the enth century AD, have influenced writers, artists, dancers, and composers throughout the world.

Also included in this collection is an interview by Chirantan Kulshreshta and an essay by A K Ramanujan on translating Tamil poetry, both of which add significantly to our understanding of the connectedness between the translations and his poems.

The works in this volume have individually made a unique contribution. Brought together, they allow us to see the continuity and range of the whole tradition, which Ramanujan has helped to illuminate and define.

The Oxford India Ramanujan is a collector's item for
Ramanujan aficionados as well as for all those interested in Indian English poetry and literature in translation.


MOLLY DANIELKS-RAMANUJAN holds a Ph.D. from the University of Chicago's Committee on Social Thought. She is the author of three works of fiction, and two books of criticism;, including The Prophetic Novel.



An A K Ramanujan Story

Interview by Chirantan Kulshrestha
The Strider (1966)
Relations (1971)
Second Sight (1986)
The Black Hen in Collected Poems (1995)
Uncollected Poems (2001)