The Ten Principal Upanishads

The Ten Principal Upanishads

Product ID: 9891

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Shri Purohit Swami
W B Yeats/
Publisher: Rupa
Year: 2011
Language: English
Pages: 159
ISBN/UPC (if available): N/A


This is a book to be read slowly and lovingly, for it is full of grand passages and haunting phrases from those ancient sages who have left us some of the profoundest reflections ever made upon the nature of man.

Upanishad is doctrine or wisdom (literally at the feet of, meaning thereby At the feet of some Master), the doctrine or wisdom of the Vedas. Each is attached to some section and sometimes is named from the section. The Katha-Upanishad for instance is part of the Kathak Brahman section in the Yajur Veda.

The authors have omitted the usual first five chapters of the Chhandogya-Upanisahd because they are no intermixed with rituals that they are no longer studied, though still sung. For the same reason he has selected from Brihadaranyaka-Upanishad such passages as contain no such intermixture.

The order wherein the Upanishads should be studied, according to tradition, is that in which these are printed in this book.


I The Lord
( Eesha-Upnishad)

II At Whose Command?
( Kena-Upnishad)

III From The Kathak Branch of the Wedas
( Katha-Upnishad)

IV Questions
( Prashna-Upanishad)

V At the Feet of the Monk
( Mundaka-Upanishad)

VI At the Feet of the Monk
( Mundaka-Upanishad)

VI At the Feet of Master Mandooka
( Manadookya- Upanishad)

VII From the Taittireeya Branch of the
Wedas ( Taittireeya-Upanishad)

VIII At the feet of Master Aitareya
( Aitareya- Upanishad)

IX The Doctrine of the Chhandogyas
( Chhandogya-Upanishad)

X Famous Debates in the Forest
( Brihadaranyaka- Upanishad)