Celebrating the Best of Urdu Poetry

Celebrating the Best of Urdu Poetry

Product ID: 32482

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Khushwant Singh
Kamna Prasad/
Publisher: Penguin
Year: 2011
Language: Bi-Lingual
Pages: 191
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9780143417514


Urdu is rich because of its mixed linguistic heritage. It evolved as an argot - a mixture of Turkish, Arabic, and Persian that was spoken by the Muslim soldiers in invaders' armies, combined with the Sanskrit, Hindi, Braj and Dakhni spoken by the Indian soliders in Meghal military encampments.

In this new collection, he and Kamna Prasad have brought together their favourite Urdu verse for ‘lovers of the Urdu language’ and all who love poetry.

Celebrating The Best of Urdu Poetry by Khushwant Singh is a collection Urdu poetry. The book contains poems written by both famous and relatively unknown poets from over the past 200 years. In one of the poems in this book, Rashid asks Allah for a small gift. If he writes his will in Urdu, he wants his son to be able to read it. The readers who love Urdu verses and those who are seeking an introduction to Urdu poetry may find this collection interesting.


‘I Would Unhesitatingly recommend (this book) to those who are familiar with Urdu poetry, and, even more importantly, to those who are not but would like to be.’--- Pavan K. Verma, Outlook

‘[A] connoisseurs’ choice.’--- The Hindu

‘This is a must read for all those who cannot read the Urdu script but want to enjoy poetry in the language.’--- The Pioneer


Introduction 1. Maohammad Rafi Sauda 2. Meer Taqi Meer 3. Sheikh Ghulam Hamdani Mus-hafi 4. Bahadur Shah Zafar 5. Sheikh Ibrahim Zauq 6. Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghablib 7. Momin Khan Momin 8. Nawab Mirza Khan Daagh Dehlvi 9. Akbar Hussain Akbar Allahabadi 10. Shaad Azimbadi 11. Mohammad Iqbal 12. Mirza Wajid Husain Changezi 13. Firaq Gorakhpuri 14. Balmukand Arsh Maalsiyani 15. Abdul Hameed Adam 16. Faiz Ahmed Faiz 17. Ghulam Rabbani Taban 18. Habib Jalib 19. Kishwar Naheed 20. Zehra Nigaah