7 Secrets of Shiva

7 Secrets of Shiva

Product ID: 32045

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Shipping Note: This item usually arrives at your doorstep in 10-15 days

Author: Devdutt Pattanaik
Publisher: Westland Books
Year: 2011
Language: English
Pages: 221
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9789380658636


This book is an interpretation of several aspects of Shiva worship, and it introduces its readers to seven secrets about Lord Shiva and his mystical appeal. Ideal for the devout and the curious, the book talks about the ‘destroyer’ in the Hindu holy trinity.

Shiva, 'the destroyer' among the Hindu trinity (of gods), is depicted in many contradictory manners. He is an ascetic who wears animal skin, his body smeared with ashes. Contradictory to his wild nature, he is also depicted as having a family, with a beautiful wife and two children.

There are many more such varied representations of Shiva, the most prominent of these being the Linga and the Nataraja. The author, Devdutt Pattanaik, introduces the readers to these varied aspects and representations, and then sets about interpreting them.

He explains the different anomalies and conflicts in beliefs, things that might puzzle people who are not familiar with Hindu culture and religious symbolism.

The author has taken up seven aspects of Shiva worship from Hinduism, which are nothing but seven different forms of Shiva worship. Shiva is worshipped in many forms, as the Lingeshwara, Kala Bhairava, Sundareshwara, Shankara, and Nataraja, and the author goes into each form and analyzes what it represents.

He also discusses Shiva’s two sons, Ganesha and Karthikeya. He goes into the symbolism behind these forms and provides his interpretation. This book serves as a nice introduction to Shaivite concepts and explains many stories, both known and unknown, the symbolism, and rituals and the reasons behind Hindu worship.


Author’s Note – One Context and Structure

1. Lingeshwara’s Secret
2. Bhairava’s Secret
3. Shankara’s Secret
4. Bholenath’s Secret
5. Ganesh’s Secret
6. Murugan’s Secret
7. Nataraja’s Secret