Product ID: 31422

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Author: Sri Aurobindo
Publisher: Sri Aurobindo Ashram
Year: 1993
Language: English
Pages: 738
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788170586005


Savitri is Sri Aurobindo's major poetic work, an epic in blank-verse of about 24,000 lines in which a tale from the Mahabharata becomes a symbol of the human soul's spiritual quest and destiny.

"The tale of Satyavan and Savitri", Sri Aurobindo noted, "is recited in the Mahabharata as a story of conjugal love conquering death".

Sri Aurobindo has widened the original legend and turned it into a symbol in which the soul of man, represented by Satyavan, is delivered from the grip of death and ignorance through the love and power of the Divine Mother, incarnated upon earth as Savitri.

Sri Aurobindo worked on this poem for more than thirty years. When a disciple asked why he kept rewriting it, he replied: "That is very simple. I used Savitri as a means of ascension. I began it on a certain mental level, each time I could reach a higher level I rewrote it from that level. . .

In fact Savitri has not been regarded by me as a poem to be written and finished, but as a field of experimentation to see how far poetry could be written from one's own yogic consciousnes and how that could be made creative."

The Mother considered Savitri to be "the supreme revelation of Sri Aurobindo's vision" and called it "that marvellous prophetic poem which ill be humanity's guide towards its future realisation."


Part One

Book One – The Book of Beginnings

1. Canto I – The Symbol Dawn
2. Canto II – The Issue
3. Canto III – The Yoga of the King – The Yoga of the Soul’s Release
4. Canto IV – The Secret Knowledge
5. Canto V – The Yoga of King: The Yoga of the Spirit’s Freedom and Greatness

Book Two – The Book of the Traveller of the Worlds

6. Canto I – The World-Stair
7. Canto II – The Kingdom of Subtle Matter
8. Canto III – The Glory and the Fall of Life
9. Canto IV – he Kingdoms of the Little Life
10. Canto V – The Godheads of the Little Life
11. Canto VI – The Kingdoms and Godheads of the Greater Life
12. Canto VII – The Descent into Night
13. Canto VIII – The World of Falsehood, the Mother f Evil and the Sons of Darkness
14. Canto IX – The Paradise of the Life-Gods
15. Canto X – The Kingdoms and Godheads of the Greater Mind
16. Canto XII – The Heavens of the Ideal
17. Canto XIII – In the Self of Mind
18. Canto XIV – The World – Soul
19. Canto XV- The Kingdoms of the Greater Knowledge

Book Three – The Book of the Divine Mother

20. Canto I – The Pursuit of the Unknowable
21. Canto II – The Adoration of the Divine Mother
22. Canto III – The House of the Spirit and the New Creation
23. Canto IV – The Vision and the Boon

Part Two

Book Four – The Book of British and Quest

24. Canto I – The British and Childhood of the Flame
25. Canto II – The Growth of the Flame
26. Canto III – The Call to the Quest
27. Canto IV – The Quest

Book Five – The Book of Love

28. Canto I – The Destined Meeting – Place
29. Canto II – Satyavan
30. Canto III – Satyavan and Savitri

Book Six – The Book of Fate

31. Canto I – The World of Fate
32. Canto II – The Way of Fate and the Problem of Pain

Book Seven – The Book of Yoga

33. Canto I – The Joy of Union; The Ordeal of the Foreknowledge of Death and The Heart’s Grief and Pain
34. Canto II – The Parable of the Search for the Soul
35. Canto III – The Entry into the Inner Countries
36. Canto IV – The Triple Soul-Forces
37. Canto V – The Finding of The Soul
38. Canto VI – Nirvana and the Discovery of the All-Negating Absolute
39. Canto VII – The Discovery of the Cosmic Spirit and the Cosmic Consciousness

Book Eight – The Book of Death

40. “Canto III” – Death in the Forest

Part Three

Book Nine – The Book of Eternal Night

41. Canto I – Towards the Black Void
42. Canto II – The Journey in Eternal Night and The Voice of the Darkness

Book Ten – The Book of the Double Twilight

43. Canto I – The Dream Twilight of the Ideal
44. Canto II – The Gospel of Death and Vanity of the Ideal
45. Canto III – The Debate of Love and Death
46. Canto IV – The Dream Twilight of the Earthly Real

Book Eleven – The Book of Everlasting Day

47. Canto I – The Eternal Day – The Soul’s Choice and the Supreme Consummation

Book Twelve – Epilogue

48. The Return to Earth