Dasakumaracarita of Dandian    (English + Sanskrit)

Dasakumaracarita of Dandian (English + Sanskrit)

Product ID: 26366

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Author: M R Kale
Publisher: Motilal Banarsidass
Year: 2009
Language: multilingual
Pages: 520
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788120801721


The Dasa-kumara-carita or `Adventures of the Ten Princes`, contains stories of common life and reflects a faithful picture of Indian society during the period.

It consists of (1) Purvapithika, (2) Dasakumaracarita Proper, and (3) Uttarapithika. The Purvapithika consists of five Uchchhvasas of which the first one deals with the birth of the ten boys, the second with the Digvijaya of Rajavahana, the third with the adventures of Somadatta and his marriage with Princess Vamalocana, the fourth with the adventures of Puspodbhava and his wedlock with Balacandrika and fifth with the marriage of Rajavahana with Avantisundari. The Dasakumaracarita proper consists of eight Uchchhvasas which deal with the adventures of (1) Rajavahana, (2) Apaharavarman, (3) Upaharavarman, (4) Arthapala, (5) Pramati, (6) Mitragupta, (7) Mantragupta, and (8) Visruta. The Uttarapithika which is a short chapter by way of supplement winds up the story which ends with the slaying of Manasara and the annexation of several principalities.

The edition consists of variants, English translation, explanatory and critical notes and an exhaustive introduction. It is designed to meet the requirement of the University students in all respects.


The Ten Kumaras and their Relationships

I. Dasakumaracharita of Dandin (Sanskrit Text)
II. Dasakumaracharita of Dandin (English Translation)

Index of Important Words