Selected Stories of Premchand  - Volume 1

Selected Stories of Premchand - Volume 1

Product ID: 24766

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Author: Sushil Malik
Translator(s)/ Editors(s): Rakesh Bhasin/Sushil Malik
Publisher: UBS Publishers
Year: 2008
Language: English
Pages: 219
ISBN/UPC (if available): 9788174766106


“Premchand's stories present panoply of emotions. Love and hate, sacrifice and selfishness, courage and cowardice, devotion and waywardness, ambition and otherworldliness, mercy and cruelty are interwoven in the warp and weft of his stories. He has depicted the degeneracy of the society and yet he believes in the potential of the human spirit to sore above the empyrean heights.

This volumes contains ten stories, each different from the other, each complete in itself. Each seeking to stir our souls, awaken our conscience and make us think.

The stories are timeless as human nature is unchanging.”


About Munshi Premchand
The Procession [Juloos]
The Magic Formula [Mantra]
The Salt Inspector [Namak Ka Daroga]
The Scimitar of Vikramaditya [Vikramaditya Ka Tega]
Prayers for the Dead [Fateha]
The Test [Pariksha]
A Gift for Granny [Idgah]
Justice without Bias [Panch Parmeshwar]
The Meek Do Not Inherit the Earth [Sadgati]
The Music from Within [Atm Sangeet]