The Best Of Arabian Nights

The Best Of Arabian Nights

Product ID: 22336

Normaler Preis
Normaler Preis

Author: Richard F Burton
Publisher: Indialog Publications
Year: 2003
Language: English
Pages: 576
ISBN/UPC (if available): 818798158X


The Book of One Thousand and One Nights, also known as 1001 Arabian Nights or simply the Arabian Nights, is a piece of classic Arabic literature in the style of a frame tale (a story within a story).

King Shahryar is so shocked by his wife’s infidelity that he kills her and gives his wazir and order to get him a new wife every night. After his time with her he kills her. When this has gone on for some time, Shahrazad, the daughter of the wazir, volunteers to become the King’s wife and begins to narrate stories which go on for a thousand and one night, so that the king’s curiosity will prevent him from having her killed. By the end of 1001 nights she has given birth to three sons. The tales include historical tales, love stories, tragedies, comedies, poems, burlesques and Muslim religious legends. Apart from these, the Arabian Nights is a rich repository of poetry.

The collection brings together sixteen best tales from the original sixteen volume translation by Sir Richard Francis Burton.



The Story of King Shahryar
and his Brother

The Tale of the Bull and the Ass

The Tale of the Three Apples

Nur-al-din and the Damsel
Anis Al-Jalis (VOL II)

The Fox and the Crow

The Poor man and his Friend
in Need (VOL IV)

The Caliph Omar Bin al-Khattab
and the young Badawi (VOL V)

Sindabad the Seaman and
Sindabad the Landsman (VOL VI)

Julnar the Sea-born and Badr
Basim of Persia (VOL VII)

Khalifah the Fisherman of
Baghdad (VOL VIII)

Abu Kir the Dyer and Abu
Sir the Barber (VOL IX)

Ma’Aruf the Cobbler and his Wife

The Sleeper and the Waker

Tale of King Ins Bin Kays and his
Daughter with the son of king
Al’Abbas (VOL XII)

Alibaba and the Forty Thieves

History of the Lovers of Syria

Story of the Sultan of Al Yaman and
His Three Sons (VOL XV)

The Linguist, the Duena and the
King’s Son (VOL XVI)